Lincoln County school systems recognized as Storm Ready Supporters
Posted On:
Monday, October 19, 2015

Twelve schools in Lincoln County have been recognized as StormReady Supporters and Weather-Ready Nation Ambassadors by National Weather Service officials.

It has taken nearly two years to get to this point. Preparation involved analyzing schools’ safe zones for students to shelter in place, developing a stable severe weather plan, and examining communication capabilities in case of a weather event. StormReady organizations have to meet specific criteria, including having multiple ways to receive forecasts and alerts.

Troutman says Lincoln County school systems are only the second in the state of Tennessee to be designated as StormReady Supporters, and their first in the Tennessee Valley. They worked through Leadership Lincoln, the NWS, and the local EMA to do it.

The full list of schools given this distinction are–

Fayetteville City Schools:

  • Ralph Askins Elementary School
  • Fayetteville Intermediate School
  • Fayetteville High School

Lincoln County Schools:

  • Blanche Elementary School
  • Flintville Elementary School
  • Highland Rim Elementary School
  • LC Ninth Grade Academy
  • Lincoln County High School
  • South Lincoln Elementary School
  • Stone Bridge Academic Learning Center
  • Unity School


  • Riverside Christian Academy
View all Highlights